Buffalo Chicken Grilled Cheese

okay first, i speak the truth when i say i am the skinniest fat girl out there. definitely not the skinniest, but skinniest in proportion to my food intake, FOR SURE. i am blessed with a great metabolism i guess? growing up my parents would always say, “bets you need to learn some moderation and self control…one day your metabolism will slow down.” Well, ha! Clearly the jokes on you suckers; 20 years later and I am still breaking down food at the speed of sound. I have started attending yoga classes on the regular because guys like that, right?

I LOVE FOOD, like to a point where many family members and friends think I’m the slightest bit nutty. my boyfriend no longer pays attention to me when i say “OH MY GOD LOOOOK BABE!”, because he knows its either a recipe or another food blog I’m drooling over. my mom feigns interest when i say “I just saw the COOLEST THING”, because she knows I’m not talking about the new leather jacket at ZARA; I’m talking about the mini flourless chocolate cakes I saw on realsimple.com. I’ll search for hours to find the best deal possible on those Rachel Zoe pumps but you can sure as shit bet I will drop $175 on Wolfgang Pucks new stainless steel slow cooker. I think you get the idea.

If you’re an American and love all things buffalo and/or buffalo chicken, I now know your kryptonite. I now know what gets your juices going. Not grasping the awesomeness of this sandwich yet? Let me clarify: buffalo chicken + grilled cheese. Get it now? Great, let’s continue.

I altered this recipe slightly since I’m a spice king (queen? lets stay on topic.), and my version is as follows

Ingredients
1/4 cup Marie Callender’s Blue Cheese dressing
4 cups cooked and shredded chicken (if you’re lazy like me, rotisserie chicken is your go to)
1 minced red onion (or white, or yellow)
8 1/2″ thick slices bread
2 tbsp unsalted butter, room temp.
3/4 cup grated cheese (I like Wegman’s 4 Cheese Blend)
 
Buffalo Sauce Ingredients
2 tbsp unsalted butter
1 cup franks red hot (MUST BE FRANKS!!!!!!!)
2 tbsp packed brown sug.
2 tsp apple  cider vinegar

Directions

To make the buffalo sauce: Melt butter over med-low and add the hot sauce (FRANKS!), brown sugar and vinegar. Add shredded chicken (works best if still warm) and red onion and mix together. Onions and I kind of have a love affair going on, and by kind of I mean full-on fling. Kevin doesn’t like them but why should he get what he wants for lunch on his birthday?

(This will make four sandwiches) Lightly butter one side of each of the bread slices. Flip the slices over and lay them butter side down, spread 1/2 your blue cheese on one slice for each sandwich. Dole out half of the cheese & half of the chicken mixture over each of the sandwiches. [edit: being the fatty that I am I ate a lot of the chicken mixture before it even made it this far. if you have taste buds, you will too so make extra] 

Heat your pan over medium. Place your fabulous creations butter side down in the pan and cook on the first side until the bread is golden brown and toasted (or burn it to a crisp like me, i don’t care). Flip the sandwiches and cook on the other side until the bread is however-the-fuck you like it. I suggest using a spatula to compress the sandwich as it cooks on the second side.  Then, oh my god, eat it.

Tasty, right? The first time I made this I think I literally said, “oh my god I’m going to make this, like, every day for lunch”, and I really intended to but I’m lazy so that didn’t happen. But seriously, so easy! (I never lie) I generally serve this bad boy with my lobster mac & cheese to really put you over the edge. 

Leave a Reply

