Frenchiest French Onion Soup

This is one I’m very proud of.  Probably the only one I’m proud enough of to show The Queen a photo of this masterpiece. She was mildly impressed.

We were stuck in this epic storm (4 inches), we were drunk, I had two days off from work, a need to cook, no way to get to the store. HAD ALL THE INGREDIENTS FOR FRENCH ONION!!!! Basically, Gallagher hates onions and he always begs me to make this. Like begs. I make him beg for it, in public. I  think the secret is in the caramelizing because it makes them so much sweeter & and the texture so much better. I asked him (made him) cut the onions because I like to leave my crying to rom-coms and break up fights.

Easy, cheap recipe: costs about $15 and makes 5-6 servings. I mean obviously we finished an entire crockpot in one night, but not everyone is crazy and not everyone can pack food away like I can. I literally inhale this shit. I frequently notice that people are so grossed out by how much I can eat, but I’m extremely proud of it. It is never the case with me that my eyes are bigger than my stomach. Buffets and open bars with endless appetizers are my Mecca. (Rambling) I paired this with 12 beers, shocked? What beers? LOL I don’t know. We HAD TO sample some Sam Adams fall variety pack, and HAD TO finish them all in one night

French Onion Soup Ingredients
4 large onions, chopped (I used 2 red, 2 white)
4 tbsp butter
3 tbs flour
1 tsp pepper ( i used wayyyy more)
1 tsp sugar
32 oz beef broth
1 1/4 cup agua (water dummies)
1/2 tsp parsley
1/4 tsp thyme
1 cup red wine (pinot noir people)
french baguette
1/2 lb cheese (sliced swiss & mozz)

Directions

  1. In a large pot over medium heat, saute the onions in the butter for about 30 minutes. Don’t think you’re smarter than me and skimp on time; the longer you caramelize the better, promise. Stir in the flour, ground black pepper and the sugar to form a pasty mixture.
  2. Now add the beef broth, water, parsley and thyme and simmer for 15 minutes, Then add the wine and simmer for 10 more minutes. Depending on what you like you can add more or less beef broth (and wine, for sure); I like my french onion to be less soupy and more boozy.
  3. Preheat oven to broil. I like to fill individual oven safe bowls 3/4 full with the soup, layer of cheese on top & bottom. Who doesn’t love cheese? If I could live in Wisconsin I’d die in cheese heaven.  Instead of slicing the baguette I like to cube the bread and then cover with cheese. Personal preference, but hey…do something crazy! Cube the bread!!!
  4. Broil in the oven until the cheese is melted and bubbly. Bubbly cheesy french onion crack cocaine.
Leave a Reply

