Margherita Pizza

Image

Yup… I made those 8 slices of heaven. It wasn’t easy, but I did it. 15 tireless minutes of unrolling the pre-made pizza dough, and slicing the prepackaged mozzarella. I don’t work out, so it was entirely exhausting. My arms are a little sore today.

This isn’t a ‘true’ recipe post…but I had kind of  a revelation about homemade pizza crust; brace yourself because this little morsel of knowledge is sure to knock your socks off. You guys should have to pay to read my posts and receive this type of information. 

My pizza crust is always tasteless and although it’s cooked all the way through…kind of mushy. Bland mushy tasteless pizza dough. Cardboard pizza dough. Starchy pizza dough. Can I get a woof? Exactly. I HATE pre-made Pillsbury/Generic Brand/whatever pizza dough. It’s never personally done anything to me, but I hate it. At the same time, I’m really lazy. I hate it enough to talk about how much I hate it, but not enough to make my own. Me make my own pizza dough…from scratch…HA. HA. So what’s a girl to do?

So, daisy and I were a bottle of vino deep (that would be the $5.99 Tisdale Pinot Noir in above photo…hey, I’m frugal) and decided to bake the pizza dough a little before adding our magical toppings. We really live life on the edge. I think Family Matters was on in the background. Was this on a Friday night? Maybe.

It. Made. A. World. Of. Difference.

Fireworks! Explosions galore! Our pizza crust had come to life. It had a crunchier texture, and blended with the flavors of the sauce, mozz, and basil in an unbelievable way. I know I have a flare for the dramatics but I am not kidding! This was a truly a life changing experience for me.

Stick your pizza dough in the oven at 400 degrees, for 5 -7 minutes (preferably on a pizza pan with holes in the bottom) and then add your topping, AND THEN stick back in the oven for another 12-15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

