Monterey Chicken ….cue romantic music & swoon

6155

Quick, easy, delish, bang boom bam.  I would be lying to you if I said my taste buds didn’t scream “SPICE! TOO SPICY! …but more. give me moTOO SPICY, more.” oh the battle of spice/give me more; what you’ve never heard of this? Me either, I made it up.

Also, the thing I love about green onions is I look like a master chopper/dicer…always. They are so good to me. 

So, after a quick google search this is what I stumbled upon, and after making I am deeming this recipe “man pleasing chicken recipe” …. this is one of the recipes that temporarily makes Kevin forget I don’t like to do laundry, vacuum, do the dishes, or even really like him (just kidding?).

Ingredients
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I halved)
1/4 cup bar-b-que sauce ( Sweet Baby Ray’s…WHAT ELSE?)
1/4 cup chopped up bacon 
1 cup colby jack cheese, shredded
1 (14 oz.) can Rotel tomatoes, drained (don’t be a sissy..for sure get kind with green poblano chiles)
handful sliced green onions
salt + pepper for taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Season with chicken with pepper. Grill chicken until no long pink (or just in a pan….whatever, too cold for the grill) and place in a baking pan covered with foil. Top each chicken breast with BBQ sauce, 1/4 c. cheese, 1/4 c. tomatoes, green onions and one tablespoon of bacon bits. Place in oven and bake until cheese is melted (about 5 minutes).

Have a little pep talk with your mouth and let it the know pain is worth the gain. Power through taste buds, power through. I don’t know if that actually works here, but just go with it. I know I’m being dramatic. ENJOY gourmet food lovers!

Leave a Reply

